Reel Reviews

Film Reviews by a Real Person, Not a Critic

An Assault on the Senses

I decided to put off today’s review when I found this little gem while Googling movie posters. I’ve been replacing the ginormous movie poster shots from my earlier reviews with smaller ones.

Back in November, I did a review on a shitfest called Death Race 2000. I mentioned how I was scarred for life from seeing David Carradine in nothing but a mask and tiny black briefs.

Well folks, you’re in for a treat. I actually found a screenshot of said scene. Mercifully, the picture quality isn’t very clear, so your eyeballs won’t be that badly damaged.

As for me, I watched this scene with a plasma TV.

I will never be the same again.

So, here it is folks. Click on the thumbnail…if you dare.


, ,

February 1, 2006 - Posted by | Miscellaneous, Specific Actors

12 Comments »

  1. Your eyes will heal…IS THE PLASMA SCREEN OKAY?!?!

    Comment by Photo Steve | February 1, 2006 | Reply

  2. I cannot believe you don’t like Death Race 2000… that movie is horribly hilarious..
    I have that movie coming on my netflix in the next few weeks because I havent seen it in quite some time, but I think that movie is so awfully funny…
    It is a bad movie, but I love it…

    Comment by J | February 1, 2006 | Reply

  3. Steve- Well, when this scene came on the screen cracked in the middle and the TV let out an ear piercing sound, like a shriek of agony. I think we accidentally killed it. We had to go back to Fry’s and exchange it for a new one 😉

    J- That’s exactly the same reason why my boyfriend rented it. He saw this movie many, many years ago and remembered it to be very funny, but when he watched it again it strangely wasn’t as funny as it used to be. Maybe it just didn’t stand the test of time. Perhaps it’s funnier when one has had a few to drink. But I just thought it was painful to watch. Sorry 🙂

    Comment by Toni | February 1, 2006 | Reply

  4. I will give it a watch when it comes in the mail…

    I hope I still find it funny… either way I will let you know what I think of it this time around…

    I have Kung Fu Hustle coming in the mail right now… I hope it is as funny as it looks…

    Comment by J | February 1, 2006 | Reply

  5. btw, congrats on this…

    Comment by J | February 1, 2006 | Reply

  6. hmmm… I was trying to post a picture… congrats on being in the fasted growing blogs list…

    Comment by J | February 1, 2006 | Reply

  7. J- Enjoy Kung Fu Hustle! It’s kind of…weird. But funny. I hear Shaolin Soccer is better. Thanks for the congrats, btw! Sorry you couldn’t post the picture. Maybe wp.com doesn’t allow it on comments?

    Comment by Toni | February 1, 2006 | Reply

  8. Ha! I love Shaolin Soccer… I have that one on DVD…
    I also have Layer Cake coming soon, heard that one is supposed to be pretty good.

    Comment by J | February 2, 2006 | Reply

  9. Layer Cake? Hmm, I’ve never heard of that movie. Is it by the same makers of Shaolin Soccer and Kung Fu Hustle?

    Comment by Toni | February 2, 2006 | Reply

  10. No… I think it is more in the vain of a Guy Ritchie-style movie… Not related to the other movies i was talking about, just that it is coming soon and wanted to see if anybody else had seen it…

    Comment by J | February 2, 2006 | Reply

  11. I just looked it up on IMDB. When you mentioned Guy Ritchie, I thought it was going to be another one of those “Lock, Stock and…” (along with “Snatch”) movies that all seem to have the same plot.

    Layer Cake looks like it has a relatively good rating, but I didn’t want to read further for fear of spoilers.

    Comment by Toni | February 2, 2006 | Reply

  12. […] Reel Reviews ” Blog Archive ” An Assault on the Senses Is it by the same makers of Shaolin Soccer and Kung Fu Hustle? … Internet Movie Database. Movie Mistakes. Movie Puppet Theatre. Movies in Fifteen Minutes … […]

    Pingback by The Daily Utah Chronicle - Slamdance 2005 | December 1, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

