Reel Reviews

Film Reviews by a Real Person, Not a Critic

How Can Reel Reviews be Improved?

UPDATE: I’ve started implementing some of the improvements I discussed (and suggested by my commenters) to the posts. From now on, each review will include a little blurb at the beginning which contains the year the movie was made, the director, the rating, the starring cast, AND my own Reel Reviews Rating. I’ll go back to past reviews and add these elements, but it may take some time.

I just wanted to get some feedback from you guys. I’d like to know what you guys think so far about my reviews. Have they been helpful? Are there some things you’d like me to focus on more? Focus on less?

I’d also like to add certain elements to my reviews, and perhaps introduce different kinds of posts as well.

Here are a few things off the top of my head:

Regarding the reviews themselves
1.) I’m thinking of adding more basic information to the beginning of each review such as a short list of the main actors, the year of production, the director’s name, the rating, and a one-sentence description of what I thought overall of the movie.

2.) I’m also considering using a ratings system (eg. 5 stars, that sort of thing) at the beginning of each review.

Other potential types of posts in addition to reviews
1.) Once a month I can do a “Spotlight On…” a certain actor, actress, or director.

2.) Do some theme posts. For example, once a month do a review on certain trilogy movies.

Any constructive feedback and advice are welcomed. Please, just don’t be too harsh on me 🙂

January 20, 2006 - Posted by | Miscellaneous

5 Comments »

  1. I love the way your doing already.I check in here everyday and i subscribed to you in Bloglines.

    I do like the rating system you were talking about ..even if you just put up a pic of a thumbs up or down would be cool.

    Comment by foo | January 20, 2006 | Reply

  2. Yeah, if you’re going to review older films, I’d do themes or collections, Top 5 Spielberg, Best Military Movies, Rainy Weekend Movie Marathon.

    Also, a “If you liked abc, check out xyz” or list movies that might be similar to what you’re reviewing.

    Do ratings, but make it unique to you, like reels instead of stars.

    Comment by Photo Steve | January 21, 2006 | Reply

  3. Thanks for all the advice foo and Steve! Yes, I think the rating system is a great idea. And yes, using little reels would be cool!

    Comment by Toni | January 22, 2006 | Reply

  4. I really like the casual and witty style of your reviews and believe you should keep it this way. It’s what makes your reviews different from all the other movie review sites. Like Photo Steve mentioned, doing reviews in thems or collections could be a nice addition.

    Comment by Damon Z | January 23, 2006 | Reply

  5. Damon- Thanks very much for the kind words! Although I’ve added the ratings system and film info at the beginning, I’ll continue to write the actual reviews in my casual (often smart alecky) manner.

    I do like the themes/collections idea. I’ll have to start cracking on that!

    Comment by Toni | January 23, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

