Reel Reviews

Film Reviews by a Real Person, Not a Critic

EuroTrip

Title: EuroTrip
Year: 2004
Director: Jeff Schaeffer
Starring Cast: Scott Mechlowicz, Jacob Pitts, Kristin Kreuk
Rated: R, though for this review I watched the DVD “unrated version”

Reel Reviews Rating:

When Eurotrip first came out I saw the trailer and deemed it too stupid to watch. It looked like a typical teen comedy with naked, horny teenagers cavorting all over the place. My brother and sister however, went out and saw it because of Michelle Tracthenberg, who played Buffy’s little sister Dawn in the tv show Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and because of Kristin Kreuk, who my brother thinks is hot. My siblings came back from the movie absolutely loving it, and when the DVD came out they bought it immediately. They convinced me to watch it with them, and by jove, I didn’t regret it at all.


After Scott (Mechlowicz) is unceremoniously dumped by his girlfriend (Kreuk, in a bit part eons away from her goody two shoes Smallville character Lana Long), he goes off to Europe in search of his German pen pal (Jessica Biehrs). Scott is joined by his best friend Cooper (Jacob Pitts, who reminds me so much of a younger Matthew Lillard), and in Europe they meet up with their friends Jenny (Tracthenberg) and Jamie (Travis Wester). The foursome traipse all over Europe, getting into one hilarious but embarrassing mess after the other.

NOTE: Eurotrip is definitely NOT for everybody. It’s crass, obnoxious, offensive, and features male (franks and beans and buns) and female nudity (boob shots). There are about two lesbianic scenes (e.g., naked women giving each other massages) It’s basically for South Park audiences. The DVD Unrated Version is more graphic since there are added nudity scenes (mainly of topless women). Although there is only one actual sex scene which doesn’t really show that much, rest assured it will offend some people- especially Catholics.

The movie also depicts many European stereotypes (e.g. British soccer/football hooligans) that European audiences may find insulting. Catholics may also be offended at some scenes near the end of the movie. Hell, gay men may be insulted at how they’re portrayed in the film (as perverts trying to hit on unsuspecting teenage boys). Yes, Eurotrip tries to take jabs at everyone.

That being said, I don’t get offended easily. I am a long time South Park fan, and I enjoyed Eurotrip. It’s really, really funny! The situations the four friends get into are just so ridiculous and way out there, you can’t help but laugh. Furthermore, there is a great song called “Scotty Doesn’t Know” (by rock band Lustra) featured in the movie that’s just so catchy, you want to sing it over and over. Yes, the song is crude as well, but it’s really fun to listen to. I have it as an Mp3.

The acting by these relative unknowns is unimpressive. They’re not horrible, but not exactly Oscar-worthy material either. After all, what can you expect from a teen movie like this? It’s clear that these actors were mainly picked for their looks rather than their talent. Biehrs, for example, is a very pretty girl (or in guyspeak: smokin’ HOT!), but she says and does very little in the movie. Her “finest” moment is when she appears in nothing but her panties. Yep, that’s some quality acting there. The Matthew Lillard lookalike though, stands out a little from the rest. He’s pretty funny. But then again, there’s already a Matthew Lillard in the movies, and people barely know who HE is.

The movie also features a couple of cameos by bigger name actors. One in particular is by a HUGE A-lister, and I was pleasantly surprised to see him in this movie. I won’t mention who they are, but it’s fun to see them in a role different from what they usually play. In fact, they often stole the scene from the four main actors.

In sum, those who don’t get offended easily or can handle crass humor (e.g., teenage boys and college guys; me) will love Eurotrip. It’s right up their alley. Most adults will probably just think it’s offensive, or stupid and mindless, with too much nudity. Watch at your own discretion.


, , , , ,

January 18, 2006 - Posted by | Comedy, Romance

9 Comments »

  1. There ain’t nothing wrong with too much nudity, a little bump ‘n grind, and Kristin Kreuk. Although, I will admit, I haven’t seen the movie.

    Comment by Marvo | January 18, 2006 | Reply

  2. hi.. cool reviews yours… I intend to start watching “Eternal Sunshine…” this weekend. Never had heard about this movie, and now that you give it a good rating… thanks πŸ™‚ And please keep on the good work.

    Comment by Null Bit | January 19, 2006 | Reply

  3. Marvo- if you like too much nudity, a little bump ‘n grind, and Kristin Kreuk dancing sexily, then this is the movie for you.

    nullbit- Thanks! To be honest, I don’t think I necessarily gave “Eternal Sunshine” a positive review, since I didn’t know what to make of it. But I think I was fair in my judgment and opinions of it. Hope you like the movie!

    Comment by Toni | January 19, 2006 | Reply

  4. I was expecting the same thing from “Euro Trip” but it was hilarious!
    As for “Eternal Sunshine” I thought it was quite a good movie… I tend to enjoy it when Jim Carrey doesn’t do his over the top-comedy routine all the time (though those are good too…). That is probably why one of my favorite movies is “The Truman Show”.

    Just found your blog by the way, pretty cool…

    Comment by J | January 20, 2006 | Reply

  5. J- Yeah, I really liked “The Truman Show” as well. It was refreshing to see Jim Carrey in a serious role. I think though, that he was just too depressing in “Eternal Sunshine”. Yeah I know, the character was supposed to be depressed, so then I guess I didn’t like the character rather than Carrey.

    Welcome! Glad you like my blog! Thanks for blogrolling me πŸ™‚

    Comment by Toni | January 20, 2006 | Reply

  6. Do you provide a blog feed subscription for this blog so
    I can get it via email?

    Comment by Monterey Apartment Rentals | February 9, 2006 | Reply

  7. No, it never occurred to me to do so. How do I go about doing that?

    Comment by Toni | February 9, 2006 | Reply

  8. this movie is the shit ay

    Comment by Fredd john | February 27, 2006 | Reply

  9. That’s fine if you feel that way, Fredd. We all have our opinions πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by!

    Comment by Toni | February 27, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

