Reel Reviews

Film Reviews by a Real Person, Not a Critic

Sky Captain and the World of Tommorow

Title: Sky Captain and the World of Tommorow
Year: 2004
Director: Kerry Conran
Starring Cast: Jude Law, Gwyneth Paltrow, Angelina Jolie
Rated: PG

Reel Reviews Rating:

The first thing I thought of when I first heard the title of this movie was, “What a load of cheese!? I mean, really- what the hell kind of title is Sky Captain and the World of Tommorow?

Now that I look back on it, this is remarkably the exact same thing I thought of when I heard that the title of Star Wars: Episode II was to be called Attack of the Clones. Attack of the Clones?!?! What- like, Attack of the Killer Tomatoes?!?!?!

Anywho…

In spite of such a long-winded, corny title, I thought well, you have these A class actors in the film- Jude Law, Gwenyth Paltrow, and Angelina Jolie. Big time people. Not to mention that I heard it looks great on a big screen TV. So I gave it a chance.

And got a plate full of queso.

Sky Captain reminds me a whole lot of The Rocketeer. In fact, it shares the same formula: you’ve got this alternate universe where there are robots and all sorts of flying machines during the 1930s. You’ve got the dashing hero, the stubborn but plucky female sidekick, and mysterious bad guys. At least Sky Captain didn’t have Timothy Dalton. I dunno. The guy never really sat well with me. Pierce Brosnan was a way cooler -and hotter!- James Bond.

But I digress.

The plot of Sky Captain comes right out of a 1930s children’s TV (or radio) show. Scientists are mysteriously disappearing; meanwhile, strange robots have invaded New York City! Oh, who will save us? Why it’s Sky Captain and his plane. Hurray! But where did these robots come from? How are the scientists connected? Stay tuned next week to find out!

As I mentioned, I had heard that a main reason to watch this movie was because it supposedly looks great on a big screen TV. I guess it has something to do with the whole movie being done in CGI (with the exception of the actors, of course). It’s nothing new- after all, consider Star Wars: Episode II and Episode III. And yes, those CGI rendered scenes look great; however, it didn’t look nearly as good in Sky Captain. I understand that they were trying to give that 1930s film noir kind of look by using sepia tones, and though it looked cool in the beginning, you get kind of sick of it after a while, especially since most of the time the actions take place in the shadows. Hey, I’m all for directors flexing their artistic muscles by bathing the actors in shadows but when you can’t even tell what the hell is going on in a scene because it’s so damn dark, they’ve overdone it.

I couldn’t figure out for the life of me why A-listers such as Jude Law, Gwenyth Paltrow, and Angelina Jolie would choose to appear in such a cheesefest. Then I realized: they purposefully wanted to be in a cheesefest, to do something for fun. It must get tiring to always appear on Oscar worthy films. I think though, that Angelina should watch herself and not get trapped in the “cheesy action film? genre. The Tomb Raider movies should have given her enough frommage, but I guess not. At least Gwenyth did that Sylvia Plath movie last year, even though she also did View from the Top. And Jude should just take a breather in general. I mean, he was in FOUR movies last year (granted, his role in The Aviator was really just a cameo, but still)! Slow down, my friend. How you were able to do four movies AND fuck your kids’ babysitter while engaged is beyond me.

In sum, I don’t recommend this movie, especially if your eyes tend to tire easily. The fuzzy sepia colors will drive you nuts after a while, and you will get a headache trying to make out what’s going on in the shadows. It’s also a relatively predictable plot with an attempt of a twist at the end. Blah, whatever. I’m glad I didn’t spend 8$ to watch it in the theater. I’m glad that I didn’t spend 3$ to rent it from Blockbuster. Good old free 6-month Netflicks membership courtesy of my bf’s brother. No, this is the type of movie that you just happen to catch on HBO while channel surfing and there’s nothing else better on TV.


, , ,

November 23, 2005 - Posted by | Action, Sci-Fi

2 Comments »

  1. Gwyneth needs to breakup with Martin so he can get back to Coldplay! This sucks, I miss Coldplay!

    Comment by mr skin | October 6, 2006 | Reply

  2. Wow, I can’t believe Brosnan won’t be Bond again!?? They seem to go through Bonds pretty quickly for some reason. And I guess the new bond guy was the one who broke the news to Brosnan?

    Comment by mr skin | October 19, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

