Reel Reviews

Film Reviews by a Real Person, Not a Critic

Death Race 2000

Title: Death Race 2000
Year: 1975
Director: Paul Bartel
Starring Cast: David Carradine, Simone Griffith, Sylvester Stallone
Rated: R

Reel Reviews Rating:

In a word, this movie sucks.

It sucks beyond all levels of suckitude.

I am peeved that my bf made me watch this because this is 90 minutes of my life that I will never get back.

Death Race 2000 is what I guess one might call a “cult film?, though that would be an insult to cults. No, let’s just call it for what it is- a bad 70s movie, which is kind of redundant I know, but this movie is just all sorts of crap.

The story takes place in the year 2000, in a twisted sort of America run by a dictator. Gee, I’ve never heard of that plotline before. And in this future violent car races are the national pasttime. Contestants compete in a cross-country race where extra points are scored when they mow down pedestrians. Oooh, how cruel. And just to show the audience that they mean business, the contestants’ cars are equipped with all sorts of knives, spears, and other pointy things meant to maim and kill their prey. Ya know, I would be more impressed with their death cars if it wasn’t so blatantly obvious that the spears and pointy things were made out of paper mache, and the blood was nothing more than orange paint.

Oh yeah, and there’s some lame plot mixed in somewhere about a group of terrorists, led by some stiff looking old woman, who try to off the contestants to get their message across to the public that the race is barbaric. Um, wha??? Yeah because killing the contestants is not barbaric at all!! Oy.

Yes my friends, this is a total B movie with a B movie budget, in spite of actors such as Sylvester Stallone and David Carradine.

Oh hell, who am I kidding? It’s not like THEY’RE A-listers. They were PERFECT for this movie.

Titty fans may want to know that there are several bare breast scenes, many by the lovely and perky nippled Simone Griffith, a woman I’d never heard of before until this movie. And I’m sure I’ll never hear about again.

I for one, however, am scarred for life after seeing David Carradine wearing nothing but black briefs. YOWF.

So, do I recommend this movie? Hell no, are you kidding? Of course not! It sucks! The plot sucks! The acting is painful to watch! The supporting actors are irritating as hell! The fake blood is orange! The explosions look like they were done with firecrackers! The props look like paper mache! Need I go on???

Don’t bother watching it, unless it’s 2:30 am, you’re stoned with your pals, and there’s nothing on TV except informercials. But even then I may pick the informercials over this movie.


, , , ,

November 21, 2005 - Posted by | Action, B movies, Sci-Fi

7 Comments »

  1. 😀 All I have to do is look at the video sleeve to know I would rather commit hari kari than watch this. 😀 Man, I feel for you that your bf made you watch this. I’d be looking for a new one. LOL

    WC

    Comment by wildchild | November 22, 2005 | Reply

  2. Instead, check out the Gate. It’s pretty bad but yet pretty amazing. Have you ever seen it?

    Email Me.

    Comment by iamamazing | November 22, 2005 | Reply

  3. […] Back in November, I did a review on a shitfest called Death Race 2000. I mentioned how I was scarred for life from seeing David Carradine in nothing but a mask and tiny black briefs. […]

    Pingback by Reel Reviews » An Assault on the Senses | February 1, 2006 | Reply

  4. […] Watership Down is another film that my boyfriend Netflixed because he saw this movie as a kid and wanted to see again. Wary of past childhood movies that he Netflixed and forced me to watch (e.g., Death Race 2000 and The Black Hole), I watched Watership Down with some trepidation. As it turned out, I didn’t have anything to worry after all. […]

    Pingback by Reel Reviews » Blog Archive » Watership Down | February 24, 2006 | Reply

  5. […] Watership Down is another film that my boyfriend Netflixed because he saw this movie as a kid and wanted to see again. Wary of past childhood movies that he Netflixed and forced me to watch (e.g., Death Race 2000 and The Black Hole), I watched Watership Down with some trepidation. As it turned out, I didn’t have anything to worry after all. […]

    Pingback by No Face for Film » Watership Down | March 21, 2006 | Reply

  6. WAAAA I’m recording it right now. Awsome movie!

    Comment by me | January 11, 2008 | Reply

  7. GO FOR THE BABY…. THE BABY!!!!!

    Comment by me | January 11, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

