Reel Reviews

Film Reviews by a Real Person, Not a Critic

Please Change Your Bookmarks

Reel Reviews has been reborn as NoFace for Film. Spread the word! :)

Please update your bookmarks, blogrolls, feed readers, etc.

March 25, 2006 Posted by | Blog Maintenance | 13 Comments

The End of Reel Reviews…The Start of Something New

I just wanted to let you all know that I’ve purchased my own domain name and have imported all my Reel Reviews posts to the new blog. I liked WordPress.com for its elegant simplicity but in the end I feel that my blog can’t grow if it stayed here. I also have never been happy with the name Reel Reviews (as much as I liked it) because of the competition I received from more established blogs and sites with similar sounding names.

I’m still in the process of getting things together over there, but I hope that by Monday I’ll be ready to let you all know of the new blog’s name and location.

Once I’ve settled, I’ll start deleting all the posts from here but I’ll keep Reel Reviews running for the next couple of months to direct people to the new blog.


Technorati Tags: , ,

March 24, 2006 Posted by | Blog Maintenance | Leave a comment

March of the Penguins

Title: March of the Penguins
Year: 2005
Director: Luc Jacquet
Starring cast: A tribe of adorable Emperor Penguins!
Narrator: Morgan Freeman (English Language version)
Rated: G

Reel Reviews Rating:

Sometimes we all feel that life is tough. Maybe things aren’t going well at work, or perhaps we have issues with our families. At times we are thankful to just make it through the day.

At least you’re not an Emperor Penguin.

Continue reading

March 24, 2006 Posted by | Documentary, Foreign | 2 Comments

I Need a Better Name!

EDIT: I’ve already come up with a name. Thanks to everyone with their suggestions!

Sorry, no new movie review today. I haven’t had the chance or time to see any movies recently. I do have a few from Netflix, but I’ve been busy with schoolwork. I hope to do one for Friday.

However, I am considering running a little contest. I’ve never been happy with the name Reel Reviews for this blog since there are like, 5 other blogs/websites with that same name. I need a better, unique name for this blog. I probably won’t use it while I’m at this free wordpress.com account since the name won’t match the URL. I’ll use it someday, when I get my own domain and host this blog myself.

Anyway, the prize is that I design for you a button or a banner for your blog- whichever you prefer. I know it’s not much, but neither is coming up with a name for my blog ;)


, , , , ,

March 15, 2006 Posted by | Miscellaneous | 6 Comments

Watership Down

Title: Watership Down
Year: 1978
Director: Martin Rosen
Voices: John Hurt, Richard Briers, Michael Graham Cox, Harry Andrews
Rated: PG

Reel Reviews Rating:

Watership Down is another film that my boyfriend Netflixed because he saw this movie as a kid and wanted to see again. Wary of past childhood movies that he Netflixed and forced me to watch (e.g., Death Race 2000 and The Black Hole), I watched Watership Down with some trepidation. As it turned out, I didn’t have anything to worry after all.

Continue reading

February 24, 2006 Posted by | Adventure, animation, Drama, Film Adaptation, Foreign, Social Commentary | Leave a comment

Team America: World Police

Note: I did a review of this movie on my other blog when I first saw it. I watched it recently on DVD, so I’ve modified the original post to reflect DVD viewing.

Title: Team America: World Police
Year: 2004
Director: Trey Parker
Voices: Trey Parker, Matt Stone
Rated: R

Reel Reviews Rating:

South Park creators Trey Parker and Matt Stone switched from computer generated animation to old-fashioned marionettes in this 2004 film to deliver their political message with their usual razor sharp wit.

Continue reading

February 22, 2006 Posted by | Action, Adventure, Comedy, Musical, Satire, Social Commentary | 4 Comments

The Black Hole

Title: The Black Hole
Year: 1979
Director: Gary Nelson
Starring Cast: Maximilian Schell, Robert Forster, Joseph Bottoms, Yvette Mimieux, Anthony Perkins, Ernest Borgnine; voices by Roddy McDowall and Slim Pickens
Rated: PG

Reel Reviews Rating:

The Black Hole was apparently Disney’s pathetic attempt to cash in on the Star Wars phenomenon. However, it comes nowhere near the quality of Lucas’s magnum opus.

Continue reading

February 17, 2006 Posted by | Action, B movies, Sci-Fi | 6 Comments

Miyazaki Week(s) Wraps Up

I had planned on reviewing Howl’s Moving Castle for Friday, but since it’s been almost a year since I last saw it, I didn’t think it was fair to review it. There’s several parts about the movie that I had forgotten. It’s best if I rent the movie when it comes out on DVD and review it then.

Tommorow’s going to be a fun review. My sarcasm level was on full tilt when I wrote it ;)

February 16, 2006 Posted by | Miscellaneous | 1 Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.